Gulliver’s Travels – Jonathan Swift

Love This? Please Share It With A Friend!

The Gulliver’s Travels book was written by Jonathan Swift in 1726. It was a massive success and it is still included in most “best books of all time” lists. It has also never been out of print since its original publication.

Although we know the book as Gulliver’s Travels it was also called Travels into Several Remote Nations of the World, quite a mouth full! Feel free to download a free copy of the 1726 edition of Gulliver’s Travels PDF down below.

Gulliver's Travels PDF | Free Download And Short Summary

It’s interesting to note that Gulliver’s Travels is known as prose satire. It is a form of writing where humor is used to make a situation, subject or person seem silly or ridiculous, specifically to point out and criticize something that is wrong. In Gulliver’s Travels, Jonathan Swift uses satire in his book to point out human weaknesses and to criticize British culture, society, religion, and politics.

Gulliver’s Travels PDF Book – Free Download

You can download your free copy of the Gulliver’s Travels book by clicking the button below. Depending on what device you are using, the book will either open in a new tab or download to your device.

If you would like to download a copy of the Gulliver’s Travels story to your device, you can right-click the button and choose “Save As”.

Is The Gulliver’s Travels PDF Free To Download?

Yes, it is! The Gulliver’s Travels book was first published in 1726 so it is in the public domain. You are therefore welcome to download and read it for free. We hope you enjoy it!

Gulliver’s Travels Book Summary

The Gulliver’s Travels book is narrated by Lemuel Gulliver who is a surgeon who decides to travel the seas after his business fails. The book, and this Gulliver’s Travels summary, is divided into four parts:

  • A Voyage to Lilliput
  • A Voyage to Brobdingnag
  • A Voyage to Laputa, Balnibarbi, Glubbdubdrib, Luggnagg and Japan
  • A Voyage to the Country of the Houyhnhnms

The Voyage To Lilliput Summary

The first part of Gulliver’s Travels is called “A Voyage to Lilliput“. The story begins when Gulliver is shipwrecked on an island. He is the only survivor and when he wakes up he finds that he has been tied up by hundreds of small people who are all just 6 inches or 15 cm tall!

The people are very protective of their country and although they valiantly try to fight Gulliver, all their attacks on him are just like pinpricks. He is taken to the capital city of Lilliput and is eventually released. The king asks Gulliver to help defend their country against the empire of Blefuseu. The two countries are at war over their religious beliefs over which side of an egg should be cracked open!

The Voyage to Brobdingnag Summary

In the second part of the book, The Voyage to Brobdingnag, Gulliver finds himself in a land of giants. Here he meets a gigantic farmer who is 72ft or 22m tall! The farmer takes Gulliver home and his daughter, Glumdalclitch looks after him. The farmer starts showing Gulliver off to the locals for money and entertainment.

Soon the queen of Brobdingnag hears about Gulliver and she buys him from the farmer. Because Gulliver is so small she builds a small house for him complete with tiny chairs, beds, and even cutlery. Gulliver talks to the king about Europe and the king is not happy especially when he hears about guns and cannons.

The second part of Gulliver’s Travels ends when Gulliver is picked up by a giant eagle and dropped into the sea where he is rescued by people his own size.

A Voyage to Laputa, Balnibarbi, Glubbdubdrib, Luggnagg and Japan Summary

In A Voyage to Laputa, Balnibarbi, Glubbdubdrib, Luggnagg and Japan, Gulliver’s ship is attacked by pirates and he ends up on the flying island of Laputa. Here the people are dedicated to studying mathematics, astronomy, and various other arts and sciences. However, everything they do is completely impractical.

After many adventures and travel in Laputa and its surroundings, Gulliver manages to find his way to Japan and from there he heads back home to England.

A Voyage to the Country of the Houyhnhnms Summary

In the last part of Gulliver’s Travels, “A Voyage to the Country of the Houyhnhnms”, Gulliver once again sets off on a sea adventure. But this time he is abandoned in an unknown land after the mutiny of his crew.

Here he meets Houyhnhnms, a race of horses who are extremely intelligent and kind. They are in stark contrast to the other people he meets in this land – the Yahoos are a human-like race that are described as greedy, filthy, and brutish.

Gulliver stays with the Houyhnhnms and he is truly happy with them. However, when they find out about England and its history, they ask him to leave. He reluctantly does and when he returns to England he is so disenchanted by humanity, seeing them as Yahoos, that he avoids people and becomes more and more reclusive spending most of his time in the stables speaking to his horses.

Gulliver’s Travels Q&A

Is Gulliver’s Travels A Real Story?

Gulliver’s Travels is not a true story. However, although not true, each of the lands that Gulliver visits are said to represent different real-life countries and societies.

What Do Lilliputians Symbolize?

When Gulliver arrives in Lilliput, he meets the Lilliputians who are a small race of people who initially take him prisoner. However, he is soon released and becomes popular with the king and the royal court. The Lilliputian’s size mirrors how narrow-minded they are, often fretting and debating silly, trivial things such as which side of an egg should be cracked open.

Jonathan Swift splits the Lilliputians into two groups, one group who wears high-heeled shoes and are said to represent the English Tories; and the second group who wear flat shoes and who are said to represent the English Whigs. Jonathan Swift also takes a dig at British politics by saying that those in court positions are the ones who are best at rope dancing!

Is There A Gulliver’s Travels Movie?

Yes, there is! In fact, there are quite a few different movies and series made over the years.

How Many Gulliver’s Travels Movies Are There?

There have been six Gulliver’s Travels movies made:

  • 1902 – Gulliver’s Travels Among The Lilliputians and the Giants – French silent film directed by George Méliés. Starring George Méliés himself as Gulliver.
  • 1924 – Gulliver’s Travels – Austrian silent film directed by Géza von Cziffra. Starring Eugen Neufeld as Gulliver.
  • 1935 – The New Gulliver – A Soviet animated film using puppet animation directed by Aleksandr Ptushko. Starring Vladimir Konstantinov as Gulliver.
  • 1939 – Gulliver’s Travels – Animated musical film produced by Max Fleischer. Starring Sam Parker as Gulliver.
  • 1977 – Gulliver’s Travels – Mixed animation and live-action film starring Richard Harris as Gulliver.
  • 2010 – Gulliver’s Travels – American adventure comedy directed by Rob Letterman and starring Jack Black as Gulliver

Gulliver’s Travels | 1939 Trailer

Gulliver’s Travels | 2010 Trailer


The Gulliver’s Travels book is a classic that is still loved and enjoyed today. It is a hilarious and exciting story that is full of adventure and excitement. It is a must-read for anyone who loves adventure stories that also have underlying political commentary. It is a book that is full of great lessons that will keep you entertained and make you think at the same time. Download a free copy of our Gulliver’s Travels PDF here.

More Free Classic English PDF Books to Enjoy:
Around The World In Eighty Days
The Science Of Getting Rich
The Great Gatsby
Jane Eyre
Pride And Prejudice
Alice In Wonderland